Events

Commemorating the Abolition of Slavery

– The National Museums of Kenya

 The Catholic University of Eastern Africa

 The Institute of Research for Development (IRD, France)

 The Research Unit ” Migrations and Societies “ (URMIS, France)

 The International Research Centre on Slaveries (Ciresc, France)

 The National Committee for the Memory and History of Slavery
(Cnmhe, France)

invite you to :

Commemorating the Abolition of Slavery

A series of events organized in Mombasa and Nairobi, Kenya
1st May – 7th September 2014
, with the support of UNESCO, Alliance Française and the French Embassy to Kenya.

Agenda Mombasa and Shimoni


 Itinerary Exhibition ” Lest we forget “

From May 1st up to July 31st at Shimoni Slavery Museum

 Itinerary Exhibition ” Silent Memories : the UNBROKEN Chains “

From May 23rd up to June 4th : Alliance Française of Mombasa

From June 6th up to June 16th : Fort-Jesus

 Documentary Film Festival

Venue: Alliance Française of Mombasa

Thursday 29th May :

7 pm : Mémoires périphériques

8.10 pm : Afro-Iranian Lives

Friday 30th May :

7 pm : Memories of Captivity

7.50 pm: Slave Routes, the Soul of Resistance

 Books presentation

Venue: Alliance Française of Mombasa

Monday 2nd June, 6.30 pm

 Science Café

Venue: Fort-Jesus

Tuesday 3rd June, 6.30 pm

Agenda Nairobi


 Scientific Conference

Venue: The French School in Nairobi

Wednesday 4th June, 2 pm – 5 pm

For students, staff and parents only

 Books presentation

Venue: The Catholic University of Eastern Africa

Thursday 5th June, 10 am – 12 am

 Science Café

Venue: Alliance Française of Nairobi

Thursday 5th June, 6.30 pm

 Itinerary Exhibition ” Silent Memories : the UNBROKEN Chains “

Venue: Alliance Française of Nairobi

From 18th August up to 7th September

 Documentary Film Festival

Venue: Alliance Française of Nairobi, 6.30 pm

Monday 25th August: Afro-Iranian Lives

Tuesday 26th August: Mémoires périphériques

Wednesday 27th August: Memories of Captivity

Thursday 28th August : Friday 29th August : Children born from uprooting, memories of Garifuna people in Central America

Friday 29th August : Slave Routes, the Soul of Resistance